Our Story

Over 100 Years of Heritage

The Leland Lodge is nestled in the heart of Michigan’s Leelanau Peninsula. This stunningly beautiful area best known for access to Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, the winding coastal road, M-22, wine tours, beautiful beaches, and scenic nature hikes. Although there is nothing like Summertime in Northern Michigan, Fall, Winter, and Spring are just as charming.

The Lodge is open year-round to make sure you and yours can experience Leelanau in all four seasons.

The Nicholas Hotel was first built and opened on this land in 1909. In 1926 the Lodge burned to the ground and was rebuilt just in time for the 1927 summer season and was renamed by owner Josh Fisher , “The New Nicholas Hotel.” In 1946, the hotel was expanded to the footprint that exists today. In the 1960s, The Lodge’s classic oak paneling was installed through the property and in November of 2012, the Lodge was purchased by the current owners who invested millions of dollars into Leland’s only year-round hotel and restaurant.